RSS

Let’s Stop With Carmelo Anthony Trade Speculation Already

28 Jan

Does It Matter Which New York Teams Picks Carmelo?

Let’s begin…

The Carmelo Anthony trade speculations has been nauseating (That may be too harsh of a word, but I do feel like throwing up. Mainly because of the Vodka last night, but it makes me feel better if I blame it on sports). By this time everyone knows Anthony will end up in New York. It’s just a question of when, and will it be the Nets or the Knicks.

What no one is asking is why.

Why is it worth me caring about where Carmelo Anthony is going to play? What has he done during his NBA career to garner this kind of attention? As much as I want Melo to go to the Knicks and matter, there’s a better chance that this could be Dominique Wilkins and Stacy Augman situation all over again, if he is eventually paired up with Amare Stoudemire. We have already seen Carmelo in this situation. He played with Kenyon Martin (a comparable athlete at the time) and he couldn’t get it done. Not only did he play with Martin, he played with a good supporting cast add a Hall of Fame head coach, and what do you get…early playoff exits (At one time he played with Allen Iverson. It sounded good at the time, now…not so good). Those teams were better than every Knicks team for the last 15 years, and he still got it done (You see what I did right there? I mix in a random stat to increase my credibility). So, good luck to the Knicks if you make that move.

I’m still not counting out the New Jersey Nets. I know Mikhail Prokhorov came out last week and said the Nets were out of the running, and as much as I respect his gangster (God knows I respect his gangster. Anytime someone accumulates a billion dollars with no receipts, I take notice). I just can’t believe an organization that will be opening a new arena in Brooklyn would pass on the opportunity to add one of Brooklyn’s own to their team. Call me a skeptic, but I think they want to sell tickets. The obvious problem with Melo going to the Nets is he will become even more irrelevant. If he thinks he doesn’t matter now, go to Nets. That’s the equivalent of quitting your job at Wal-Mart to work at a car wash.

Another question no one is asking is why Carmelo wants to leave. Everyone assumes he wants to win, or play in New York because that’s where he’s from. However, I strongly disagree with that assumption. Before this year you never heard about Anthony being disgruntled. He never complained of not winning or his need to play in New York. I thought he was having a great time in Denver scoring 30 points a game and not playing defense. Only thing that changed is that he got married. Ding, ding, ding (That’s me saying I just cracked the case. I actually made the noise out loud when I wrote that). His wife wants to live in New York…that means he wants to move to New York. So, let’s stop acting like Carmelo is fed up with underachieving.

*For the record I would never do that, because I wouldn’t have lived in Denver in the first place. No offense to Denver, that’s just too much snow.

I don’t know where Carmelo Anthony with play next year. I don’t know whether he will win a championship. I do know him leaving the Nuggets doesn’t garner the attention it’s getting. I also know has played on better teams than both the Knicks and Nets. So no matter where he goes expect what you’ve seen for the last 6 years. All I want to know is will La La take that Prokhorov money.

-Kortney Shane Williams

Comedian and Writer

www.facebook.com/kshanecomedy

www.youtube.com/kshanecomedy

KortneyShaneComedy@gmail.com

http://thekortneyshanepillar.wordpress.com/

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in Basketball, Sports

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Let’s Stop With Carmelo Anthony Trade Speculation Already

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

