RSS

Bill Cosby at Benaroya Hall

22 Jun

Let’s begin…

So, I had to write a blog about this. I’m not sure if it will be funny, and you know what, it doesn’t even matter.

Last night I got to witness a master at work. I saw Dr. Bill Cosby put on a show last night at Benaroya Hall in Seattle. It was the best show I’ve ever been to. For starters he came out, sat down in a chair, and never left his seat until he walked off the stage. Now when I tell you he filled the space in the hall. I mean he filled the space. Mr. Cosby performed for over 2 hours. No intermission. No opening act. No band, just Bill Cosby delivering a show. The show didn’t have the effect on me that I thought it would. I thought the show would inspire me as a comedian. However that didn’t happen. I came out feeling the same way I walked in. I did take two things from the show, and neither one of them had to do with comedy. The first thing that stuck out was the relationship Cosby had with the audience. The people really loved this guy. The connection was more intimate. I watch this guy and not once did I here a comedian. I heard my grandmother, my father, and my brother. The second thing I took from the show was his patience. He never rushed into or out of a joke. He made sure his wording was right, even if he had to go back and correct himself. He was so relaxed. He did stories that were extremely long, but you never felt there wasn’t something being accomplished with every word he said. It was the most impressive thing I’ve ever seen.

    Dr. William Cosby is the greatest comedian ever. I know everyone believes Richard Pryor is the greatest and he great. However, let me entertain you with a basketball analogy. Richard Pryor is Michael Jordan in comedy. He completely changed the game, and everyone is chasing him. Bill Cosby is Bill Russell. He has more championships than anyone, and he will probably never be surpassed. You can chase, but you will be lucky to get close.

Last night I got to watch the greatest comedian ever for over 2 hours. No intermission. No opening act. No band.

-Kortney Shane

Comedian (Maybe a writer)

www.facebook.com/kshanecomedy

www.youtube.com/kshanecomedy

KortneyShaneComedy@gmail.com

https://thekortneyshanepillar.wordpress.com/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 22, 2010 in Pop-Culture

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
