RSS

“King James?” I’ll Just Call Him the Small Forward, That’s Taking His Talents to South Beach

10 Jul

The LeBron James Mural Will Be Fully Removed From Cleveland's Skyline Within the Next Few Days

Let’s begin…

Reaction from the decision

I’m a Cleveland sports fan. I support the Indians, the Browns, and the Cavaliers. So, I was definitely paying attention to the LeBron James (by the way that’s the last time I’ll mention his name. He now gets the Bill Parcells to T.O. treatment. I now call him the small forward) dog and pony show. I’ll spare you on the Cleveland sports venom. You can get that on a message board somewhere. I’m here to give perspective. I find no fault in the small forward leaving Cleveland. It was probably time to go. I left Cleveland twice, and I didn’t have to get paid to do it. So, I don’t consider him a traitor for leaving. However, could he have found a classer way to do it? You talk about a kick in the groin. Even the crowd winced when he said Miami. He knows what the city of Cleveland has gone through when it comes to sports, so why would you add to it? Why would you want to be public enemy number 1? He went from loved, to hated in one sentence. I’ve never seen anything like that before. I don’t know how pissed off you have to be to want to stab a fan base like that. Sure Delonte West had sex with your mother, but the fans weren’t video taping it. Why take it out on them? That was a bad move, and it pretty much guaranteed that you will never be able to come back to Cleveland. Even if you run out of gas passing through Cleveland, you better push your car to Youngstown. So, good luck on your first game back in Cleveland.

What did the small forward give up?

On July 8th 2010 at 9 ET, the small forward gave up the chance of being one of the top 10 players to ever play in the NBA. All of his accomplishments will be diminished, because of the players he played with, and the means by which he got there. Let’s just say that he went to New York or Chicago? Not only would he have been the alpha dog of the team, but he would have been able to beat Wade, Kobe, Dwight Howard, and Carmelo by himself. He would have been seen as the guy that took down the best players in his era. He would have been the ultimate champion of his time. His legacy would have been comparable to the greatest players ever. People may have even argued that he was the greatest player ever. Everyone would have talk bout his combination of size and speed. They would have talk about how he over came adversity, like Jordan and Isaiah did before him. If he wins in Miami, he’s a better version of Robert Horry. No offense to Robert Horry, but there’s no way he could have sniffed icon status. Maybe I’m becoming a grumpy old fan, but I like seeing the best in any Arena go head to head. I want to compare Letterman to Leno, Frazier to Ali, and Magic to Bird. I don’t want to see Bill Gates making a call on iphone. If Ohio State and Michigan decide to merge, I want Woody Hayes to arise from his grave and uppercut the guy that thought it was a good idea.

I still can’t believe that he talked himself into giving up that level of greatness. How did that conversation go? “I could be considered the best player ever. I could play in New York. Maybe I could play in Chicago. I could be the biggest thing to hit that city since Jordan. Naw, I’ve decided to take my talents to South Beach”

Now What?

I think the Miami Heat have to win immediately. That’s the only way you could somewhat justify the decision. If this team doesn’t win multiple championships, it will be a failure. I don’t think they will win a championship in their first year, because they won’t be able to successfully defend in the front.

Depending on how this situation pans out it could change the way free agency is handled in the future. There’s a possibility that we could see more of these super teams in the NBA. If you look at how basketball has changed in the last 15 years. AAU is bigger than ever, no one stays in college, and you access to agents at the age of 13. That’s why the small forward took his talents to South Beach. It’s not about competition in the NBA. It’s about how big you can make your brand, being a celebrity, and not being too hung over on game day.

The summer of 2010 can be summed up in one statement, “In this fall, I’m going to take my talents to South Beach…” That’s the title for the next chapter of the NBA.

-Kortney Shane

Comedian and a writer

www.facebook.com/kshanecomedy

www.youtube.com/kshanecomedy

KortneyShaneComedy@gmail.com

https://thekortneyshanepillar.wordpress.com/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Basketball, Sports

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
