RSS

MLB Opening Day, “Yawn”…Fantasy Baseball Opening Day, “Go Time”

31 Mar

Let’s begin…

Today is MLB opening day. So it’s only right that I welcome you to the most overhyped day in sports. People try to convince you every year of how great opening day baseball is, when in all actually it’s not that significant. Only thing more overrated is the Reagan administration. All the baseball purist, use nostalgia and romanticism to sell you on 1 of 162 games. All you here is, “Oh it a sign that summer is here. All I have to do is smell the grass and see the pitcher’s mound. It brings a tear to my eye. Opening day is as American as Apple Pie.” Yeah, the only thing is I actually like apple pie (with a scoop of ice-cream of course).

Now I want to make something clear. I like baseball. I love going to games, and watching on T.V. I just think the number of games in a season, make opening day insignificant. I would argue that the last 20 games of the regular season are far more compelling than opening day.

Strangely enough with all my problems in regard to opening day, I can’t wait for fantasy baseball to start. Everyone I selected in my auction draft has been waiting for this moment. We’ve made it through spring training injury free, and my players are foaming at the mouth, relishing the opportunity of taking the field. This is when my leadership as a manager is tested. Last year we finished second place, and I take full responsibility for our shortcomings. I should have dealt Ubaldo Jiménez when I had the chance. As a veteran owner I should have known better, and I have promised my team that I won’t make that mistake again. With a pitching rotation of C.C. Sabathia, Josh Johnson, and David Price, I don’t expect to have any pitching problems this year. Now in my hitting lineup I went young with Jason Heyward, Mike Stanton, and Justin Upton as my core. This will give me a good nucleus to build around this entire season. “Ya boy feels good”. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I can’t wait for opening day (Bart Scott Style).

-Kortney Shane Williams

Comedian and Writer

www.facebook.com/kshanecomedy

www.youtube.com/kshanecomedy

KortneyShaneComedy@gmail.com

https://thekortneyshanepillar.wordpress.com/

http://twitter.com/#!/KortneyShane/status/53519071660089344

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in Baseball

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
